Main Menu

Product Review: Eastern’s Gulab Jamun Mix


I have had a lot of gulab jamuns, be it home made, from stores or made using mixes. It is the only Indian sweet (along with rasmalai) that I like eating! 

DSC_5831

When Eastern sent me this product, it was peak exam time for me and I had no other option but to withhold it for another month. Although my competitive exams are still on it’s way, the major boards is done so I told my mom to make it instead. She made half the packet in March and the other half today. For the first half my mom added additional khoya or khoa as she had it in hand and it adds to the flavour but today she made without khoya and it tasted great as well.

DSC_5809

Review  is as follows

Aroma– There is a strong aroma of cardamom which is the highlight of the product. We have tried many other products and one thing that stood out was the aroma of cardamom which is quite distinct and pleasing. The aroma gets 8 out of 10

Texture– The jamuns are soft, yet holding the shape after frying. Again another thing I noticed was that the jamuns retain their round shape while deep frying using this mix. While using a few other mixes I’ve noticed that the round turns a bit crooked. Texture wise, it was soft and moist so it gets 8 out of 10.

Taste– Like I mentioned earlier, there is a strong flavour of cardamom which is significant for indian sweets. I liked the hint of cardamom through the jamuns. I tasted the fried jamun before dipping in the syrup and it has a hint of sweetness to it so make sure the sugar syrup is not too sweet. Also, the jamuns absorb the syrup nicely and swell up a lot so do not roll out big jamuns to start of with. Also it is given to add a small amount of saffron in the instructions. I recommend only a small amount and you can also add 2-3 drops of rose water for enhanced flavour. Overall the taste was pretty good and I would give it 8.5 out of 10

Overall it is a very good product, easy to make and easy to follow the instructions as well. The best among the other products that I have reviewed from Eastern.

DSC_5847

 

Leave a Reply

