Burgers And Sliders · French · Italian · Starters

Caprese Style Camembert Grilled Cheese Sandwiches


I feel over the top while writing this blog post! As I mentioned in my previous post, my brother has come from Germany to spend his vacation with us which is one great reason. Apart from that, he also got me some lovely cheese from there which adds to the happiness. Along with the fresh mozzarella (That I used to make the Caprese salad), he also got me Camembert, young Gouda and Emmentaler. As if that wasn’t enough for me to feel ecstatic, there is another good news which is like cherry on the cake! Or rather like cheese on toast 😜

I had won a competition about 2 weeks back which called for submitting cheese based recipes conducted by better butter and my cheese hamper from “Mooz formaggio”  just arrived. Mascarpone, cream cheese, tofu, sour cream, sour cream peri peri, sour cream chipotle, ricotta and many more! I’m actually quite excited to come up with many recipes using those. As of now, my refrigerator is overflowing with cheese and I can’t help but grin at my good luck. 😀 

DSC_7578

Now, typically Caprese salad or Caprese salad inspired dishes are made with mozzarella, tomato and basil but as I was looking for ideas to use the Camembert, I came across this idea of make a Caprese style grilled cheese sandwich but with Camembert instead of the mozzarella. It’s kind of a fusion because Caprese is Italian and Camembert is French.

 The result? Simple yet delicious. Just the way I like it. Melt-y ooey-gooey cheese along with the classic flavour combination of tomato+basil is every cheese lover’s dream.

DSC_7554

Ingredients: (Yields 2 sandwiches)

  • Camembert cheese- 70 grams or 2.5 oz
  • Wholewheat bread- 4 slices (You can also use white bread)
  • Olive oil- 2 teaspoons (If you do not have olive oil, use sunflower oil or even melted butter)
  • Tomato- 1 medium; sliced (Around 6 slices)
  • Chilli flakes- 1/2 teaspoon
  • Salt and pepper- to taste
  • Basil leaves- 6-7 

Method:

Place two slices of the bread on a cutting board or plate. Divide Camembert among the two bread slices. Sprinkle the chilli flakes over the cheese. Top with tomato slices (about 3 slices on each), then 3-4 basil leaves on each. Finally, top with the remaining two slices of bread and brush The tops with 1/2 teaspoon for each top. Heat large skillet or griddle over medium-low heat.

Grilled cheese

Place the sandwiches oil side down and cook over a low heat for 2-3 minutes or until golden brown in colour, making sure you press the top with a flat spatula occasionally. Brush the other side with 1/2 teaspoon oil for each slice while on the pan itself and flip. Grill for 2-3 minutes or until golden brown.

grilling

Remove from the pan, slice it diagonally with a sharp knife and serve warm! 🙂

DSC_7609

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

